Council recognised with national award

Welwyn Hatfield Council has received national recognition for the publishing of an informative, engaging and transparent Annual Report on its civil parking and traffic enforcement activities.

Patrol Parc awards

Annual Reports are critical in continuing to explain to and engage with the public and external stakeholders on the purpose and importance of parking and traffic management in creating better communities to live and work.

The 2020 PATROL¹ PARC² Awards form part of PATROL's commitment to promoting best practice from its over 300 local authority members in England (outside London) and Wales.

Annual Reports for 2018-2019 were submitted by local authorities for judging by the PARC Review Group, an independent group of senior and authoritative voices in the parking, motoring and communications space. Welwyn Hatfield Council was one of eight³ local authorities shortlisted for an award, receiving a Highly Commended for 'Best Use of Design'.

Louise Hutchinson, Director, PATROL said:

While it has been a disruptive and challenging year for us all, public information about parking and traffic management remains vital. Therefore, PATROL wishes to recognise authorities that have sought to proactively engage with their communities on the local traffic management challenges they face and the steps they are taking to address them.

The work you do will continue to be so critical as towns, cities and communities start to get back on their feet, their bikes and in their cars in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Councillor Stephen Boulton, Welwyn Hatfield Council Executive Member for Planning and Environment, said:

We're committed to keeping our communities informed. Presenting information in a clear and engaging way is key and we continue to look for imaginative and creative ways to do this. To be just one of eight local authorities across the country recognised in this way, is a great honour.

Huw Merriman, MP for Bexhill and Battle, and Chair of the House of Commons Transport Committee, recorded a congratulatory video message to the winners.

Overall winner was Lincolnshire County Council.


¹Parking and Traffic Regulations outside London

²Parking Annual Reports by Councils

³The local authorities shortlisted for this year's awards are: Borough of Broxbourne Council; Cardiff Council; Cheshire East Council; Devon County Council; Durham County Council; Lincolnshire County Council; Newcastle City Council and Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council