Annual Council 2019

The inspirational achievements of local people were celebrated at the Annual Council meeting last night (Monday 20 May).

Civic Awards

The Mayor of Welwyn Hatfield, Councillor Barbara Fitzsimon, presented three Civic Awards and 24 Queen's Sapphire Jubilee Awards.


The Young Person Award was presented by Geraldine Ward, Dean of Students of the University of Hertfordshire, and the Mears Community Award was presented by Mears Site Manager, Scott Clarke.


The Civic Awards celebrate a range of achievements, including service to the community, courage, environmental work and education.


The winners were:


· Tony Skottowe - for his work in the community and as Chairman and a founder member of the WGC Heritage Trust, raising the profile of Welwyn Garden City.

· Aimee McCormack - for juggling motherhood with helping homeless people on the street and others in the community.

· Sue Jenkins - for the work she has undertaken in setting up Riding for the Disabled (RDA) Digswell Place Group and running it for nearly fifty years.

· David Treglohan (Community Award) - for his volunteering in the community with young children for twenty five years and as a Cub Scout leader.

· Kaitlyn Foster (Young Person's Award) - she's five years old and always thinking of others. At Christmas she asked to collect blankets, cushions and pillows to give to some homeless people.

The winners each received a crystal engraved trophy, a certificate, a cheque for £250 and a place in the Civic Awards Roll of Honour, recording their achievement for posterity.



The Queen's Sapphire Jubilee Awards  are presented to young people aged between seven and 20 years old to support them in starting, improving and fulfilling their potential in sport, art, dance or drama. This year 24 young people received the Queen's Sapphire Jubilee Awards:



Hannah Williams


Holly Jane Clayton


Dylan Martin


Jasmine Jennings


Euan Scott Woodliffe


Finlay Luke Woodliffe


Chloe Louise Sharp


James Ashton


Joshua Wilberforce


Klaudia Alicja Chrzan


Melody Xinyuen CHAI


Ivanka Eseanobi


Jake Martin


Thomas Martin


Josephine Clayton

Flute and Piano

Callum Nicolson


Betty Brocklesby Sum


Gracie-Rae Kilby


Olivia Kilby


Edward Bonn

Ice Hockey/Roller Hockey

Luke Anscombe

Skater Hockey

Nathan Jeremy Puxon Oppelt

Skater Hockey

Arabella Moen


Christina Lily Durbin



Mayor, Councillor Barbara Fitzsimon, said:

I am truly honoured to present the winners with their Civic Awards for a second year. It is inspiring to hear about the extraordinary contribution made to the local community by this year's winners, and it is fitting that their efforts are being recognised in this way.

This is a fantastic way to round off what has been a truly incredible year as Mayor of Welwyn Hatfield.