Youth Awards

The Youth Awards celebrates young people in the borough and recognises their achievements.

Youth Council Awards logo

Thank you to everybody who nominated a young person for a Youth Award. Nominations are now closed and our judges will soon be short listing nominees. 

Do you know a young person who volunteers to make a difference in the community? Or has shown great courage and is an inspiration to others? Have they excelled in sports or creative arts and achieved great successes or perhaps taken on the responsibility of caring for somebody?

If that person is aged 11 - 19 who lives, works or is educated in the borough, then why not show your appreciation and nominate them for a Youth Award.

Award Categories

Young ArtistsThis award showcases the creative potential of a young person that has excelled in the arts; including creative (drawing or writing), expressive (dancing or theatre) or applied (product design or textiles). 
Young EntrepreneurThis award is for a young person or group that have invented or created a product or been involved in a successful enterprise or business start-up. 
Young Sports person This award is for a young person who has demonstrated excellent sporting skills and sportsmanship and celebrates their sporting achievements. 
Young VolunteerThis award recognises the volunteering efforts of a young person who takes pride in volunteering to make a real difference to the Welwyn Hatfield community. 
Young CarerThis is award recognises a young person who helps look after a relative who has a condition, such as a disability, illness or mental health condition. This individual has managed to juggle practical and/or emotional care responsibilities for someone in their family as well as school, work or training. 
Inspirational young personThis award is for a young person who has overcome challenges or has shown great courage, becoming an inspirational role model to other young people within their community.

The Chair of the Youth Council, along with other Youth Councillor members, created a short video about the awards and award categories.